Tuesday, May 12, 2009


The Essay Competition is open to current students and recent graduates in
economics, political science, law, literature, telecommunications, computer
science, information systems and related fields between the ages of 20 and
30 years old.

The winners of the 2009 Essay Competition will be offered the opportunity of
a consultancy contract within the ITU Development Sector's ICT Applications
and Cybersecurity Division for three months.
The winners will be given a contribution towards the cost of an economy
class flight from their place of residence. In addition, they will be paid
the sum of CHF 6000 towards living expenses for the duration of the

Choose one of the following essay topics to enter the Competition:
- Mobiles for Development: Enabling Low-Cost e-Applications for Rural and
Remote Areas (e-Health, e-Government, e-Environment)
- Protecting Children and Youth in the Internet and Mobile Age: Innovative
Technical and Social Solutions
- Connecting the World Responsibly: Empowering Women and Girls Through
Creative Uses of ICTs
- Personal Information Online (internet/mobiles): Responding to User Safety

Deadline for applications: 14 June 2009

For more Information and Application Process: CLICK HERE
Read more ...

Monday, May 11, 2009

The Ernesto Illy Trieste Science Prize

TWAS and illycaffè s.p.a. have instituted a high-level prize to honour distinguished scientists from developing countries. The Trieste Town Council and the Trieste International Foundation for Scientific Progress and Freedom are collaborating in this effort.
The first four-year cycle of the prize (2005-2008) was established to give international recognition and visibility to outstanding scientific achievements made in basic sciences by individual scientists in developing countries. It was named the 'Trieste Science Prize', in recognition of the unique and fundamental role that the Trieste System of scientific institutions plays in promoting science and technology in the developing world.
The second four-year cycle (2009-2012) of the prize, now called the 'Ernesto Illy Trieste Science Prize' to honour the late former President of illycaffè, will focus on sustainability science. The prize is awarded annually and rotate among the following fields:

(a) Climate change and its impact on agriculture in developing countries (2009)
(b) Energy (2010)
(c) Materials science (2011)
(d) Human health (2012)

Each prize carries a monetary award of US$100,000 generously contributed by illycaffè, a trophy and a certificate bearing a citation highlighting the major contributions for which the prize is awarded. The annual prize will be presented to the recipient at a special occasion arranged by TWAS, illycaffè and the Trieste Town Council.


Candidates must be nationals of developing countries, working and living in the South.
The prizes will only be awarded to individuals for scientific research of outstanding international merit carried out at institutions in developing countries.
Individuals who have received the Nobel Prize, the Tokyo/Kyoto Prize, the Crafoord Prize or the Abel Prize are not eligible for the Ernesto Illy Trieste Science Prize.


The evaluation is carried out by a scientific committee, chaired by the TWAS President, consisting of an authoritative and international jury and a designated representative from illycaffè.
Jury members are not eligible for the Ernesto Illy Trieste Science Prize.


Nominations are invited from TWAS members, selected individuals, as well as from science academies, national research councils, universities and scientific institutions. Self-nominations will not be accepted.
Nominations should be accompanied by a 5-6 page biographical sketch of the nominee including his/her major scientific accomplishments, list and copies of not more than 20 of the candidate's most significant publications and a complete list of publications. A brief professional C.V. of the candidate is also to be included.


The deadline for receiving nominations for the 2009 prize for outstanding contributions in Climate change and its impact on agriculture in developing countries is 31 May 2009.


Prof. Mohamed H.A. Hassan,
Executive Director,
Ernesto Illy Trieste Science Prize,
ICTP Campus, Strada Costiera 1134014 Trieste, Italy
Tel: +39 040 2240387Fax: +39 040 22407387
E-mail: prizes@twas.org


Read more ...
Grab this Widget ~ Blogger Accessories

  © Template by Ourblogtemplates.com Modification and Enrichment by nukta77

Back to TOP  

Put your long text to be scrolled!